Beethoven 9 – Chicago Symphony Orchestra – Riccardo Muti

Beethoven 9 - Chicago Symphony Orchestra - Riccardo Muti

On May 7, 1824, Beethoven shared his 9th Symphony with the world even though he could never hear it. On May 7, 2015 celebrate the anniversary of Beethoven’s most glorious and jubilant masterpiece with Riccardo Muti and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Chorus. An exhilarating testament to the human spirit, Beethoven’s Ninth bursts with brooding power and kinetic energy and culminates in the exultant hymn, “Ode to Joy.”The video is now available free on demand for all to enjoy! – See more at:
Video Rating: / 5

20 thoughts on “Beethoven 9 – Chicago Symphony Orchestra – Riccardo Muti

  1. I am confused: Should I stick to my reference preference being Bernstein's Berlin Celebration version or this magnificent execution? Next to everybody involved I would like to pay my greatest compliments to the sound technicians here!! I can practically hear every individual instrument and voice.
    Very interesting, but in both cases also very convincing, are the different choices in tempi made by Bernstein and Muti.
    Okay, I will let this version win my Gold Medal, but Bernstein's version still remains a heavily gilded Silver Medal.

  2. Over an hour into this piece half of the orchestra finally gets a job! It's like, "woah, there's a whole choir and percussion section??" XD

    Nevertheless, a Masterpiece!

  3. Second and third movement by far the most engaging and relaxing.

    Its so silky and dramatic but you enjoy the drama. Its like it’s saying, “This is all an act, take it easy?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *